Font size

Museum und Park Kalkriese

From Excavations to the Museum

More than 2,000 years after the battle between Romans and Germanic tribes, Kalkriese is still a special place. Today, the site can look back on more than 20 years of scientific examinations of the Varus Battle, and year after year archaeological research provides new insights into this tragical event.

However, Kalkriese is not only a spectacular site, but also an archaeological monument, whose characteristics and scope pose hitherto unknown challenges to scientific research and historical heritage preservation. Therefore, many universities and research facilities from various disciplines are involved in the site’s examinations.

Yet research is not the sole focus here: It is a pivotal task of the museum to foster the broad public’s interest in the site and its history.

The museum, which is located on the historical site, sees itself as a vehicle for showcasing current research results. Exhibitions feature the latest research results, guided tours and lectures provide insight into ongoing research, and the museum’s events continue to explore and utilize new ways of making history accessible in words, images and sounds.

Since its opening in the year 2002, the museum has received numerous awards. In 2004, Museum und Park Kalkriese was the first archaeological museum that was honored with the Europa Nostra Award as a European heritage site. 

Unterseiten

Schriftgröße

Museum und Park Kalkriese

Von der Ausgrabung zum Museum

Mehr als 2000 Jahre nach der Schlacht zwischen Römern und Germanen ist Kalkriese auch heute noch ein besonderer Ort. Seit mehr als 20 Jahren finden hier wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen zur Varusschlacht statt, und Jahr für Jahr bietet die archäologische Forschung neue Einblicke in die tragische Feldschlacht.

Kalkriese ist allerdings nicht nur ein spektakulärer Fundort, sondern zugleich ein Bodendenkmal, dessen Charakter und Ausdehnung Forschung und Denkmalpflege vor bisher ungekannte Herausforderungen stellt. Viele Universitäten und Forschungsinstitute unterschiedlicher Disziplinen sind aus diesem Grund in die Untersuchungen eingebunden.

Doch die Forschung allein steht hier nicht im Mittelpunkt, hinzu kommt als zentrale Aufgabe die Vermittlung an eine breite Öffentlichkeit.

Das Museum am Schauplatz des Geschehens versteht sich als Schaufenster aktueller Wissenschaft. Ausstellungen präsentieren neueste Ergebnisse, Führungen und Vorträge liefern Einblicke in die laufende Forschung und unsere Veranstaltungen finden immer neue Wege, die Geschichte in Worte, Bilder und Töne zu fassen.

Seit der Eröffnung im Jahr 2002 wurde das Museum mehrfach ausgezeichnet, darunter 2004 als erste archäologische Einrichtung mit dem Europa Nostra Award als europäisches Kulturerbe.

>> Parkplan

Unterseiten